Trinity Lutheran Head
Pastor Omar

A little history ... View as PDF

From The Brooklyn Standard Union
Saturday, 5th June 1927

Lutherans Will Dedicate New Church Edifice
Fine Gothic Building to House Trinity Parish

Tomorrow afternoon Trinity Lutheran Church of Flatbush will dedicate its new church edifice at Eighteenth Avenue and East Eight Street. The dedication will be opened with an invocation by the pastor, the Rev. Paul Henry Scaer, A.M.,
After the formal presentation of the keys to the church the officiating clergymen, the officers of the church and the congregation will proceed into the church, where the services will be coninued.
The Reverend George F. Schmidt, Pastor of Immanuel Lutheran Church amd founder of Trinity Church, will be the principal speaker, assisted by the Reverend George C. Koenig, the Reverend Walter Degenhardt, the Reverend Walter Brunn and the Reverend Erwin Kurth.
Architect DrawingTwo services have been arranged for dedication week: On Wednesday evening the address will be delivered by the Reverend Lindemann, of Long Island City. The Reverend George C. Koenig, formerly pastor of the congregation will be the special speaker on Friday Evening.
The design of the new church is in English gothic. The building is 34 by 81 feet, fronting on Eighteenth Avenue. On the main floor of the church, to one side of the vestibule is a reception room. The church auditorium proper is long and narrow, with a seating capacity of 250, exclusive of the balcony. The chancel is relatively deep and several steps above the floor of the auditorium. The glass is delicately tinted cathedral, with antique leading set directly onto the stone windows. A beautiful wooden ceiling is entirely exposed and supported by massive hammer beam trusses of Gothic design.
The basement includes rooms for the Sunday school and for social activities. This auditorium seats about 300, with dressing rooms and stage for entertainments and religious tableaux. To the rear are two large tiled rooms which will be used for the kitchen and serving room.
The church officers are president, Gustav Zimmermann; vice president, Henry A. Pantke; Secretary, Carl Hoekendorf; treasurer, Henry Seegers; financial secretary, Herbert C. W. Schumm; President of Mens Club, Charles E. Knickerbocker; President of Concordias Circle, Mr. K Schnekenberg; president, Young Peoples Society, Herbert Pantke; leaders of Camp Fire Girls, Mrs. Elsie Seegers, Miss Mathilde Weidig; leader Boy Scouts, Arthur Anderson, Arthur Pantke; superintendent of Sunday School, John H. Schneckenberg.